Forum

Looking Back

1. Anthony Dean Stefan

Now that I’m in my last year of undergrad and I’m looking back at all my experiences throughout college, I cannot help but appreciate participating in a SCUDEM challenge. This modeling challenge is perfect for understanding your strengths and weaknesses because of the dynamic aspects to the competition. It’s more than just a situation to model, there is also a self-evaluation that helps you grow as a individual. I really believe that peers can learn from each other because of the competition’s oral and writing duality. This forces the team to choose which student should be designated to a certain part of the overall project in order to be done in time. For example, I was out of my comfort zone when we held meetings to write the executive summary. I realized my writing style faded and my grammar became messy. This is where the help of my teammates came in handy, most of my skills were refreshed so that I could write scientifically, concisely, and correctly. What did you guys think? Was there a skill that you realized you could advance in? I’m so grateful for that realization now that I am approaching graduate school. I also really enjoyed working with my professor throughout the competition. I believe there is a greater experience when being coached in your studies, rather than usually only being tutored or lectured at. Speaking of lecture, this challenge was unique from my classroom experience because of the modeling perspective, rather than the brute force of solving systems. I think that this gave me the opportunity to have a broader and more realistic understanding of differential equations. The only place I think there needs to be improvement is in more teams participating. The other team’s perspective of modeling either the same problem you did or the one you thought “there is no way we are doing that one!” can bring an enhancement to your modeling capabilities. And more participation just comes with time and more aw