Events: Details

JMM 2021 Themed Contributed Paper Session on Data-Driven Modeling Projects to Motivate Active Learning and Engagement

Category: Meeting
Description:

JMM 2021 Themed Contributed Paper Session on Data-Driven Modeling Projects to Motivate Active Learning and Engagement

 

JMM 2021: 6-9 January 2021. See JMM Program
Session: Friday, 8 January 2021: 8am-10:50am & 1pm-5:55pm, Room 202A, Walter E Washington Convention Center.

Call for Presenters: We will be seeking presenters. Please consider how you could share your own good work and watch out for Submission of Abstracts at JMM 2021 site.

 

Abstract:  Modeling is widely used to motivate student learning in courses across the mathematics curriculum. Implementation of the modeling process through data-driven inquiry-based activities varies by course and backgrounds. This session seeks to present such a variety of implementation including a breadth of mathematical models, from conservation laws in differential equations to regression analysis in statistics. Students develop mathematical reasoning through inquiry, as results of a model depend upon the questions asked in forming it. This motivates students to learn needed content, familiarize themselves with technology to make their analysis more efficient, and become aware of assumptions as they revise their model in response to the data. We invite scholarly presentations of data-driven in-class activities or projects that generate active, inquiry-oriented learning across the mathematics curriculum. The diversity of presented modeling implementations benefits the community through shared resources, support, and new perspectives. Presenters are encouraged to discuss the value of modeling to themselves as teachers and to their students as learners, as well as techniques for improved data collection, implementation, and assessment.

Organizers:

Corban Harwood, George Fox University, rharwood@georgefox.edu

Mark Branson, Stevenson University, mbranson@stevenson.edu;

Patrice Tiffany, Manhattan College, patrice.tiffany@manhattan.edu

Rosemary Farley, Manhattan College, rosemary.farley@manhattan.edu 

Gizem Karaali, Pomona College, gizem.karaali@pomona.edu 

Victor Piercey, Ferris State University, victorpiercey@ferris.edu 

Luke Tunstall, Trinity University, stunstal@trinity.edu

Sponsors: QL SIGMAA, SIMIODE

Contact: Corban Harwood, George Fox University, rharwood@georgefox.edu

When: Friday 08 January, 2021, 8:00 am - 5:55 pm EST
Where: Room 202A, Walter E Washington Convention Center, Joint Mathematics Meetings 2021
Website: https://jointmathematicsmeetings.org/meetings/abstracts/abstract.pl?type=jmm
Tags:
  1. Active Learning
  2. data analysis
  3. data collection
  4. engagement
  5. JMM 2021
  6. modeling data
January
S M T W T F S
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31            

Footer - a work in progress.